Opened in 2001, the Transportation Building is a state-of-the-art exhibit space designed to showcase our horse-drawn vehicles.
The centerpiece of the collection is Concord Coach #425, which operated locally until 1911. The collection also includes the Governor Colby chaise, a former Gray Line sightseeing stage, three gigs, several buggies and sleighs, and three fire pumpers (two hand-pumpers and one steam-powered). Four of these carriages were bequeathed by long-time Deerfield Academy headmaster Frank Boyden.
In 2008, the society was pleased to unveil the Abbot-Downing Mountain Wagon, on loan from the Mount Washington Auto Road. Operated until 1913, these wagons played an important role in the development of the White Mountains tourism industry.
The Society’s vehicle collection includes thirty carriages and sleighs.
► More about our vehicle conservation projects.